Spoken Narrative

looking at, http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=loxJ3FtCJJA#! some one else’s story, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpuIJbKxdO0 https://soundcloud.com/talha075/spoken-narrative Written. My mother’s travelling ticket was arranged immediately on the same day, I had an idea why she was going back to Pakistan, leaving me and my younger sister alone with my father. 2 days after my mother’s departure, I had a cricket match with the champions, the champions who had won the last year’s tournament and I had promised my self to bring the trophy back to the school. 8 O’Clock in the morning, I had changed into whites, wearing my wrist band and at that moment, my father knocked the door and said, “Talha son is it a must to play” I replied back proudly and said “Dad, its a do or die match, I am the vice-captain, I have to play”. My dad kept quite and went out. I arranged my cricket kit and left the house, reaching the ground, it looked like a green carpet, the boys were ready and I tried to motivate them. I knew our team was weak but didnt talk about it, I kept on shouting “yes boys lets show them what we are”. We won the toss and elected to bat first, I went opening and scored 78 runs. We had a total of 138 on the board and got the team out on 130 all out. What a match it was, making the right decisions made us win. I came back home, I saw every one in white religious clothes and then asked one of my relatives, why every one was in white. He replied back “dont you know” at that moment, my expressions changed and with out greeting any one I banged the door hard. I knew what had happened, cried a bit and wished I had listened to my father earlier, my grandmother had died. Prayers for my grandmother were more important than the match I had played. I always go to Pakistan and pray for her soul and that near her grave. Elders are like shadows. There are always with you….. ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….. In my story, I am communicating to the young people, the story behind it is to never give up and always stay strong.

2 thoughts on “Spoken Narrative

  1. Another powerful and highly personal story of being faced with loss and grief, only yours brings a sense of hope and comfort with your beautifully touching ending! Well done Talha!

Leave a Reply

