Audio and editing the images

Audio

The main part of the project was the audio and the photographs, In my project, I wanted to add an audio at the same time projecting photographs on a white wall. I questioned my self on how I was going to include the audio and what style I was going to use. I had two ideas in my mind, the first one was getting interviewed and the second idea was to talk about my journey with out getting interviewed. Sooner I realized getting interviewed was an easier way of telling the story (read proposal https://talhaphotography.wordpress.com/2014/05/24/final-project-proposal/ ) so I requested my professor to interview me in the Radio studio, before using the Radio studio I had inductions with Mr.Paul, who introduced me to Adobe Audition and many other tools related to audio recording, the interview started with an introduction and followed by the longest journey I have ever had. Later on in the interview I talk about my personal journey to Karamoja and the challenges I faced before coming to University, the interview took 45 minutes in total. I did not want to upload my audio online for personal reasons and only shared it in the gallery. After recording the interview in the Radio studio, I took the audio file and planned to cut out the parts I didn’t want using a software called Adobe Audition, in other words I kept useful information for the audience to understand the story. My plan was to have a 6 to 7 minutes audio but because of the two narratives it went to 8 minutes, I personally thought in those 8 minutes, every single word was important for my project. The audio was not scripted and the talk was natural.

 

Images.

My project had two stories, which needed a flow backed up with the photographs, but in this case, I wanted the audience to feel the tension while watching the final piece, so I planned to arrange the photographs in a way that the audience will want to see on what’s happening next. The photo-film will contain images of Karamoja the place and people its self and my childhood photographs, the reason why I preferred and included childhood photographs is because in the audio I talked about my childhood when I was 11. Getting help from my dad who was in Uganda, I asked him to scan my childhood photographs and email them to me which were later on used in the exhibition. As I said earlier, I wanted to create suspense in the photo-film, I thought of adding newspaper cut outs in the photo-film and also added some notes I took while traveling to Karamoja, this also proved to the audience on what I was saying in the audio. I did not want to arrange the photographs with the flow of the audio, and at the same time I tried to choose images which connected to the audio for example if I talk about my family, I selected a picture of my family and also selected a family from Karamoja, meaning there was a relationship between the audio and photographs. Images were arranged according to the subject and color combination at some point. I used Windows Movie Maker to create the photo-film which was an easier software to use and planned to write a short text before the main body. To make it more exciting for the audience, I cut out some video clips showing my journey to Karamoja and copied them in the starting of the photo-film followed by a text and lastly the story(interview).

I selected 17 photographs, 4 newspaper cut-outs and 3 scanned notes. In total, I had 24 still images with an eight minutes audio. Some images were projected for at least 15 seconds and others were shown for 20 to 30 seconds, as I wanted to make sure the audience reads the text. My aim was to select strong images and photographs which connected to my story.

Leave a Reply

